Grilled Squash with Basil Puree

Grilled Squash with Basil Puree

I often feel compelled to buy summer squash even though none of us are huge fans of it. It looks so cute! So versatile! But then I get home and have to scheme to get anyone to eat it.

Truth be told, I still love the deep-fried squash I grew up with in South Carolina. Ilios Noche, a local restaurant, serves a fantastic updated Greek version of fried squash—with tzatziki!

But I may be onto something here with the basil puree. It definitely gave the squash a nice punch. And it was way easier than making pesto. Don’t get me wrong, I love pesto, but I hardly ever make it.

The basil puree from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian is super simple, basically basil in the food processor with olive oil, lemon juice, a tiny bit of garlic, plus salt and pepper. I can see it with roasted veggies, potatoes, chicken, pasta…lots of possibilities. So glad we planted basil seeds. I had no idea it was so easy to grow from scratch, and now we have an overabundance.

What are your summer squash (and garden veggie) go-to dishes? I’ve also found that soaking the slices in Italian dressing before grilling is pretty yummy.

7 thoughts on “Grilled Squash with Basil Puree

  1. Cucumbers seem to be the most prolific item in my garden this summer so I’m eating lots of cucumber salad. Sliced cukes, chopped onions, vinegar, sugar, and a little salt and pepper. But loving fried okra too!

    Your squash looks delish. I plant basil but use so little of it. I need to make some pesto and freeze it or something!

    • We make a lot of cuke salad around here. Onions are a nice touch I hadn’t thought of. I’ve never frozen pesto but I think it’s possible. I definitely need to do that. I made this recipe again and added walnuts to the puree. yum!

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Pasta from Scratch | Emily Smith Pearce

Leave a comment