Linen Colorblock Sundress

Linen Colorblock Dress

Here’s one of many projects that has been mostly finished for a long time. It’s finally wearable! It’s based loosely on the Burda Anda pattern, like the one I made here.

As with my previous version, I petitified it using existing clothing as a guide. This version is color-blocked, obviously, with no sleeves. I used a top from my closet to guide armhole sizing. I lowered the waist a bit and used elastic on the inside, rather than an outer drawstring casing like the pattern calls for.

I also used the bias tape as a facing rather than as an exposed detail. The tutorial for doing this with the Sorbetto top was very, very helpful and applicable to any number of projects. It’s not as tricky as it might sound, if you’ve used bias tape before. I’m beginning to get the hang of the bias tape thing. It’s really handy once you get used to it.

Lastly, I made a self belt, a little wider and shorter this time than last.

The reddish linen came from the bargain booth at the Hannover, Germany Stoffmarkt last June. The cream-colored linen was a remnant given to me by a friend. Earrings by Claire’s, circa the dark ages, and the wooden beaded necklace was a gift from my Granny a bajillion years ago. I want to say she picked it up on a trip to Israel.

I have to say I’m pretty happy with the dress. Think I’ll wear this one a lot. I’ve almost finished another Anda-inspired dress, if I can find my sewing scissors, so hopefully I can share that soon.

If you want to see some of my other sewing projects, click here.

Linen Sundress

6 thoughts on “Linen Colorblock Sundress

  1. Pingback: Self-Dyed Silk Anda Dress | Emily Smith Pearce

  2. What a cute dress! I’m just getting back into sewing again and my most recent project was with a linen fabric. I’ll have to read about the bias tape trick you talk about. I’m sure it will come in handy in the future.

    • Thanks! I love linen. It’s taken me a long time to get used to working with bias tape, but now that it’s easier I find it very handy. The Collette Patterns website also has a tutorial about making your own bias tape. Great resource!

  3. Pingback: Child’s Linen Shorts | Emily Smith Pearce

Leave a comment