Upcycled Princess Gown from Thrifted Items

gownI decided that I would make this costume for my daughter from things I already had on hand. I started thrifting when I lived in Boston and couldn’t get to a fabric store easily. Luckily, Boston is a great place to thrift (I miss you, Urban Renewals!) and I often found fabulous things to wear as well as wonderful, sometimes crazy pieces to tear up and sew back together. I haven’t lived in Boston for several years, but all the materials for this costume (except the back of the bodice) came from my time there.

The bodice of the dress is made from something that looked like a long jacket made out of a sofa from an ancient sitting room. The skirt is made of various table covers that were once used at the performing arts organization where I worked. I saved them from the trash, what a hero. I did line the inside of the skirt with muslin, though, to make it less scratchy.

Taking a cue from the Disney-fied costumes sold in stores, I made the back of the bodice from an old knit nightgown so that it would stretch to fit.

The applique and the pink edging were the only things I purchased. Can’t wait to see her in it tonight!

4 thoughts on “Upcycled Princess Gown from Thrifted Items

  1. Pingback: Green Ninja Costume | Emily Smith Pearce

  2. Pingback: Anastasia Romanov Costume | Emily Smith Pearce

  3. Pingback: Semi-Homemade Halloween Costumes | Emily Smith Pearce

  4. Pingback: Low-Sew Halloween | Emily Smith Pearce

Leave a comment