Log Cabin Blanket in Progress

IMG_0565IMG_0709IMG_0950IMG_0972

Hi everyone

I thought you might like to see the afghan I’m making from bits and bobs of wool from my yarn stash (with a much appreciated boost from my mother-in-law’s yarn stash). It’s a very loosy-goosy log cabin, sparked from the modern log cabin blanket in Mason-Dixon Knitting. (a funny, ideas-and-stories-based knitting book). The color in the last photograph is probably the most “true.”

I started the blanket last summer, and it’s been crawling along slowly since then. The brighter bits are yarn that I dyed with Kool-Aid an age ago. Yes, Kool-Aid! It actually dyes animal fibers very well and relatively easily.

I’m kind of loving this, if I do say so myself. The best part is that it doesn’t need to fit anyone.

Currently reading Pioneer Girl: the annotated autobiography of Laura Ingalls Wilder. It predates all her novels, and it’s so interesting to see how she mined this never-published first effort for her later, much more polished work. Seeing the evolution of an author is always encouraging. We all start somewhere, right?

Currently watching “Younger” (soooo funny) and the O.J. mini-series. Really interesting to look back on that period and reflect.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Log Cabin Blanket in Progress

  1. The blanket looks nice. Most blankets are woven, not knit,so this one will definitely be different. I’m surprised that you find time for it.

    GD Bob

Leave a Reply

