Easter Grass from Seed

Wheat Grass Seeds

If you’ve been reading this blog for awhile, you may remember my first encounter with real Easter grass, in my son’s German kindergarten. I was almost amazed at the simple thought of growing something that we’d always bought manufactured from plastic, in plastic bags.

But really, it’s the simplest, easiest thing you could ever grow, and the payoff is huge.  This year, we’re growing our own at home. I’m just as excited as the kids to watch the green pop up.

Wheat Grass Sprouts

Sprouts

I got a package of wheat grass seeds from the garden center, we filled some pots, lay the seeds on top, and watered. My son, now 5, told us not to cover the seeds with any dirt.

And shazam!

Real Easter Grass

It’s got me singing Now the green blade riseth…

P.S. The lovely bird pot was a gift from our friend Sally Brotman, she of chicken kebab fame 🙂 I love, love this pot!

4 thoughts on “Easter Grass from Seed

  1. Very interesting and I’m sure fun to watch. Could that be rye grass? I’ve never heard of wheat grass. Growing things are fun to watch, particularly for children. GD Bob

    • No, it’s definitely wheat grass. Which is really just wheat. You buy the seeds in a packet (rather than a big sack). Some people grow it to blend up and make into a juice—-supposed to be very healthy.

Leave a Reply

