Braised and Glazed Brussel Sprouts

Seems brussel sprout season may be drawing to a close, or anyway the ones at the store are not looking quite as perky anymore. I’m sure I could get better ones if I could haul myself to the open-air market.

At any rate, hubs requested them again, and I was happy to oblige. I found, after getting home, that I had no garlic, though. Quelle horreur! So I couldn’t make the usual recipe.

I flipped through Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, desperate for a recipe with pantry-friendly ingredients. Aha, this one fit the bill.

I admit, I was a bit skeptical, as it’s one of those recipes that’s sounds so simple I figured it must taste boring. Not so. It’s actually very yummy. Although I had to use the chicken broth I had on hand and not the white wine option, which I imagine is even better. Yes, chicken broth makes it not really vegetarian. I’m aware of that, but I’m just doing a less-meatarian thing here, and you can always use veggie broth instead.

I love the way the sprouts brown up like this (first picture). Mmmm.. Hits the spot. Well, if brussel sprouts are on their way out in Germany, does this mean white asparagus season is on its way? Or is there a season that comes in between? Bulb flower season is definitely here. Cheap blooms from Holland, oh yeah!

2 thoughts on “Braised and Glazed Brussel Sprouts

Leave a Reply

