Simplified Pommes Anna

Is it the garlic? Is it the fleur de sel? I don’t know, but something transforms this dish from simple roasted potatoes (always delicous) to something I could NOT. STOP. EATING. The family was lucky they got any potatoes that night.

I got the recipe from Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian (yes, again). It’s the “Cottage Fries with Garlic” recipe, but I think that title really doesn’t do them justice. He says they’re a simplified version of Pommes Anna, so I think I’ll call them that.

It’s basically potatoes sliced into 1/4 inch rounds brushed with olive oil and roasted. A few minutes before they’re completely done you brush with garlic oil (crushed garlic in olive oil), roast a few more minutes, then finish with some good quality salt. Mmmmm. Somehow they seem more than the sum of the parts.

We had a fantastic long weekend here in Germany. October 3 is Wiedervereinigungstag, which is the celebration of the reunification of Germany. I love those long crazy words—if you translate it directly it’s something like “Again Gone Together Day,” which is kind of great. So direct, German. I love that about it.

The weekend weather was unusually fabulous for this time of year, and we took advantage by picknicking, bike riding, and apple picking. I’m missing my apple corer-peeler-slicer, which I’m guessing must be in the storage space in the U.S. Oh well.

Thanks for the weigh-ins on painting the embroidery frames. I think I’ll do it.

NEWS FLASH!! I just heard that The Goats by Brock Cole (my mentor) is being made into a movie. Like, it’s in production in Georgia right now! Details here. I can’t tell you how excited I am. The Goats is one of the best YA novels ever written. Such a powerful story. I hope they do right by it.

4 thoughts on “Simplified Pommes Anna

Leave a Reply

