Thrift Haul

I lucked out on a recent thrifting trip.

I’d been looking for awhile for something cool to add to the hall art gallery. Our apartment has a long, long, bowling-alley-like hallway that is just begging for more artwork. Since it’s a hall, you can’t help but stand fairly near the walls, so it’s a good place for groups of smaller pieces that need a more intimate setting.

I found the birds and flowers at thrift shop #1. I love the way the black backgrounds make the colors pop. Somehow it makes them look more modern to me, too. I’ve considered painting the frames aqua or something like that. What do you think?

I found the little house piece at thrift shop #2. There’s just something about it that’s so sweet but not sugary.

Actually I don’t know if I’ll ever get to hang them because the kids want two for their own (girl wants birds, boy wants house). I’m stuck on the hallway idea, though, so we’re kind of in a deadlock over it.

Here’s a detail on the birds. The handwork is really impressive.

Next up: a platter, a Christmas tablecloth, and two skeins of cotton yarn.

I’d been looking for a platter like this for a long time to go with but not match our china (see it here). This one is perfect except I wish it were a little bigger.

The yarn is for our little weaver, and the Santa cloth—-well, I just couldn’t resist. It’s kind of a funny size, but I figure we can use it as a runner or as reuseable gift wrap.

All this loot for 7 euros 50 cents!

7 thoughts on “Thrift Haul

  1. Emily, is there any way you can retain all of your Hannover blogs and eventually put them together as a great and lasting DVD “travel log” of your years in Hannover?

    GD Bob

    • Good question. I know of some bloggers who have printed and bound their blog posts, but of course if you’re going to do a quality job it’s expensive to print so many photos. A DVD is a great idea. I’ll have to look into it. I was thinking myself that I’d like to archive it somehow. So glad you enjoy it 🙂

  2. Funny, I started to use the word, contemporizing and got that squiggly red line and thought – uh it’s not a word! So I unverbed it. (also not a word)

    I like seeing that you used it. I do think the needlework is downright fascinating – the closeups are lovely! I see why you like them.

  3. I think painting the frames would be a good idea. Maybe the blue green that is in both needlework pieces.. . . . I’m looking forward to what the little weaver does with the yarn.

Leave a Reply

