Last-Minute Man Gift

I know the holidays are over, but I just couldn’t wait until some other gift-giving season to show you this.

My man, like many of his kind, is hard to buy for. He doesn’t want much stuff, and what he does want (like books) he buys for himself.

I’ve been seeing a lot of rock lyrics and whatnot cross-stitched or embroidered in a tongue-in-cheek kind of presentation. I was going to share the links but can’t find them anymore. Anyway, I was thinking it would be cool to have something similar with a quote from our favorite TV show, The Wire. I found a bunch of T-shirts, and one very handsome print, but the quote dealt with guns, and I just didn’t think he’d want to hang that in our home or his office. No cross stitch to be found.

So I came up with this. For those of you who haven’t seen The Wire, Omar Little is a sort of Robin Hood character (he steals from drug dealers) and has a way with words. It was kind of a quick and dirty job, as you can see, but I had a time limit. He loves it.

2 thoughts on “Last-Minute Man Gift

  1. I have not watched this show, but I think it’s a great gift idea! My husband also is impossible to buy for, and tends to buy himself whatever gadget he wants. I made him a neck pillow using some of his old fleece shirts, so he can more comfortably read his iPad in bed (the iPad he bought for himself of course… I would never have bought that for him!)

    • I love gifts made out of old belongings. I am always looking at my husbands’ shirts wondering when he will retire them so I can make them into stuff. Glad you enjoyed the collage—-maybe I’lll make a cross-stitch for him next time. Though I have to admit I haven’t cross-stitched since I was 8.

Leave a Reply

