Easy Breezy Faux Batik Using Dishwasher Gel with Bleach

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got this idea from Kristi Porter’s domesticsphere. She’s my favorite knitting designer and does lots of other crafty things, too. I love the way her mind works.

So I’ve been looking for some brown patterned fabric for a sewing project. But I had some nice solid brown fabric lying around from another project, so I thought, why not pattern it myself?

So here’s the basic premise: paint or stamp dishwasher detergent with bleach onto the solid fabric. Wait a minute or two for the bleach to work, bringing out a lighter color, then rinse the detergent out. Make sure, of course, to wear something you don’t mind getting bleach on.

I used these Creative Playthings stamps of mine from the 70s. I was expecting the bleach to create white images, but instead, they are this lovely apricot color. I love the developing-photograph-type effect especially on the squares. I’m not sure if this is exactly what I want for my project, but I love the result, and I’m sure I’ll use the fabric for something.

Leave a Reply

