The Check Is In the Mail

Actually, it already arrived. That’s right, the contract for my new easy reader is now officially official, what with the money being here and all. Entitled Slow Poke, it’s a thinly veiled autobiographical story about a slow-moving girl and her impatient family. Projected pub date: Spring 2010. Next step: securing an illustrator. I don’t have much to do with this, but I did get to look at samples from a possible artist, which was fun. I’m excited to have another project in the pipeline. Meanwhile, I’m working a bit on my YA novel during nap time.

I had another book signing in my hometown (Florence, SC). Here I am with the famous Willa Burdette, my eighth grade English teacher extraordinaire.

 

I’m on a total sewing kick, started when I decided my baby boy just had to have some green overalls for his upcoming first birthday. The overalls aren’t done, but I did finish a couple of bags. Check out my first jordy bag, featured below. Directions for your own jordy (square bottomed, lined) bag at http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=32204

Currently reading: Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose. I’m also taking a writing class (free!) at the local library. It’s focused mainly on in-class writing exercises, which is refreshing after working on novels most of the time.

To come: writing exercises inspired by Francine Prose’s book.

2 thoughts on “The Check Is In the Mail

  1. Saw your mom & dad at “Florence After Five” and heard the jubilant news of your next publication. Cannot wait. I have a 5 year old slow-poke granddaughter myself! You are so far from home . . . .

Leave a Reply

