Reading to Write

with Helen

Here I am with the talented Helen Hemphill, author of Long Gone Daddy, Runaround, and the forthcoming The Adventurous Deeds of Deadwood Jones.  Check her out at www.helenhemphill.com

Helen and I presented a session on how our reading affects our writing at the conference for the South Carolina Association for School Librarians. This was somewhat of a homecoming for me, as I spent long hours as a child waiting for my mother to finish her SCASL board meetings. Thanks go out to my mom again for helping with the kiddos. I couldn’t have done it without her help wrangling them.

Helen and I had a lot of fun leading the session. I only wish I could’ve stayed to hang out longer.

Leave a Reply

