Life imitates art?

The arrival of my first novel and my second child will both be happening in the next few weeks. I started writing Isabel and the Miracle Baby in 1999, long before I met my husband or had any children. The irony is that the book is about an older sister wildly jealous of her new baby sibling. Here’s hoping my daughter won’t feel (or act) the same way as Isabel.

I wonder if other writers find weird connections like this between their lives and their fictional writing. For me, the creation of a story is a sometimes mysterious process in which I’m often reaching into my subconscious, finding things I wouldn’t have noticed otherwise. I imagine that holds true for other writers as well.

Leave a Reply

