Oxford Shirtdress

Lisette Traveler Dress

Here’s one of my best sewing creations yet, from this Lisette pattern (the Traveler dress). Yet another pink-ish dress!

Lisette Traveler Pattern

It took me a long time, but I did it! The buttonholes were the scariest part, but turns out my sewing machine salesman was right: if you practice twelve times (on the appropriate fabric) you can make them beautifully.

I made no alterations to the pattern other than to leave off the bottom pockets and to use two different sizes for the top and bottom (aha! That’s why I have trouble fitting in store-bought dresses).

Didn’t my kids do a good job with the photos?

Lisette Shirt Dress

Pattern: Simplicity 2246 by Liesl Gibson

Fabric: pinklish oxford cloth from an open-air market in Germany

Earrings: Ron Cravens

Belt: Target

Boots: Bruno Premi (no, you can’t have them!)

For more posts on sewing, click here.

14 thoughts on “Oxford Shirtdress

  1. This is sooo cute on you and you did such a nice job constructing it! Yes, the kids took great pix too! Love and hugs, Aunt Nancy

  2. This looks so great! I have this pattern too but have never made it… I think I’m intimidated by the collar and buttonholes. But yours looks so nice, I must give it a try.

    • Thanks! I had it for a long time before I tried it. Definitely practice the buttonholes a lot, and use a marking pen, and you’ll be fine. As for the collar, it was not bad, really, but I recommend trimming the interfacing down 1/4 inch around the front edges of the collar (the points and edge where you normally might have a button). All the corners do get a bit much to manage with the several layers of fabric and interfacing.

  3. I bought this pattern last summer, but did not sew it yet. Thanks for your post (which I saw on the Burda project page by the way). Your shirt dress It looks so pretty in pink chambray that I’ll give it a try. (And bravo to your kids: they are great photographers!)

Leave a Reply

