Sesame Noodle Salad with Cucumber

Just discovered another Foster’s Market recipe that’s been there all along but I’d never tried. I was looking for the answer to a tofu noodle salad mystery I’d been trying to solve for, seriously, 10 years.

The original salad was from a caterer tasting in Boston (Calla Lily, I think?). I’d never been a tofu person, but that salad was so unbelieveably good. This recipe, while not a perfect match, totally hits the spot for my noodle salad craving.

The recipe actually doesn’t call for tofu at all, but it made a great addition. It’s really a noodle salad with veggies and a great citrusy-peanutty dressing—you can change up the additions as much as you like.

The best part is the sesame oil doesn’t smack you in the face. You know, like in the asian salad from a certain national chain restaurant. It starts out delicious, but then about halfway through you feel like you’re going to die from sesame oil overdose. And then you feel like you never want to see another sesame as long as you live.

Changes I made to the salad: the first time I made it, I used glass noodles, which worked fine as a substitute for the soba (though maybe I prefer the soba, not sure). I also added stir-fried tofu since I was trying to recreate that long-ago salad.

A version of the original recipe is here. This version calls for bok choy but I made it with little baby salad greens. If you make the dressing in advance, the rest of it comes together pretty quickly. Mmmm….getting hungry again!

Okay, have a great weekend. I’m off to finish a few more tasks.

One thought on “Sesame Noodle Salad with Cucumber

  1. Pingback: Spring Recipe Roundup | Emily Smith Pearce

Leave a Reply

