Lentil, Arugula, and Feta Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette

I’ve been dreaming about lentil salad ever since having some at a wine bar down the street. That one I think had a lot of bacon in it, though, so I was glad to find  Foster’s Market Cookbook has a great less-meaty recipe that somehow I’d never noticed before.

The original recipe is called “Lentil, Spinach, and Feta Salad with Sour Cherry Vinaigrette.” But spinach is already out of season here in Germany, even though the weather isn’t that hot, so I subbed arugula and feldsalat—literally that’s “field salad” but I don’t know the English equivalent.

Also, I didn’t find any dried sour cherries, so I substituted dried cranberries, as the recipe suggests. Other than that, I made one small tweak which was to cook the red onion a little bit—I really prefer cooked onion to raw.

I loved this salad, but I’m hoping next time I can cut down on prep time. Looking at the recipe, I’m not sure why it took me so long. I guess making the salad dressing the day before might be helpful. Foster’s Market dressings are always so yummy you can really put them on anything and you’d have an instant gourmet dish. The dressing is definitely the key to this recipe, too.

Original recipe here.

My Foster’s Market book is completely falling apart. Anyone know if it’s possible to buy cookbooks with library binding or something like that? What do you do with well-worn cookbooks? Buy a new copy? Put the pages in a binder with plastic sleeves? We have this trouble with a few of our favorites, and it’s getting to be a pain to re-order the loose pages every time they fall out.

Okay, got to run. Lots to do before our move. Have a great start to your week!

One thought on “Lentil, Arugula, and Feta Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Spring Recipe Roundup | Emily Smith Pearce

Leave a Reply

