Pasta-Chickpea Salad with Tomato and Basil

I threw this together the other night with stuff we had in the house. I didn’t measure anything, but here are the basics:

  • cooked chickpeas (2 cups or so), marinated in olive oil and lemon juice, salt and pepper. I also smashed one clove of garlic in the marinade and later removed it.
  • cooked pasta (I used bowtie pasta made of 25% butternut squash), maybe 2-3 cups?
  • a few diced tomatoes
  • a few chopped scallions
  • fresh basil
  • cubed buffalo mozzarella (I think feta might be a better choice, as the mozzarella’s flavor was lost in the stronger ones)

It turned out really well. I liked the heft the chickpeas gave, though I think I would up the lemon (I only used a half) and lengthen the marinating time.

I’ve been entertaining family and doing a lot of small trips lately. Hope to update you on some of that soon.

Leave a Reply

